

Developing the Framework for a Comprehensive and Evidence-Based ACTTION-APS-AAPM Pain Taxonomy (AAAPT) for Acute Pain

April 27-29, 2016 Sofitel Washington DC Lafayette Square

PARTICIPANTS

Inna Belfer, MD, PhD

Medical Officer FDA/CDER/OND/DAAAP Silver Spring, Maryland

Timothy Brennan, PhD, MD

Samir Gergis Professor and Vice Chair for Research University of Iowa Iowa City, Iowa

Stephen Bruehl, PhD

Professor of Anesthesiology Vanderbilt University School of Medicine Nashville, Tennessee

Chad M. Brummett, MD

Associate Chair, Faculty Affairs
Director, Clinical Anesthesia Research
Director, Pain Research
Department of Anesthesiology
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Chester "Trip" Buckenmaier, MD

Program Director Uniformed Services University (USU) Defense & Veterans Center for Integrative Pain Management (DVCIPM) Rockville, Maryland

Asokumar Buvanendran, MD

Professor, Department of Anesthesiology Rush University Medical Center Chicago, Illinois

Daniel Carr, MD

Professor of Public Health and Community Medicine Program Director, Pain, Research Education & Policy Department of Public Health and Community Medicine Tufts University School of Medicine Boston, Massachusetts



Robert I. Cohen. MD

International Association for the Study of Pain Acute Pain SIG Newton, Massachusetts

Oscar A. de Leon-Casasola, MD

Chief, Division of Pain Medicine Professor of Anesthesiology and Medicine Roswell Park Cancer Institute University of Buffalo Buffalo, New York

Paul J. Desjardins, DMD, PhD

President of Desjardins Associates Maplewood, New Jersey Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Tufts University School of Dental Medicine Boston, Massachusetts

Robert H. Dworkin, PhD

Professor of Anesthesiology, Neurology, Oncology & Psychiatry Professor of Neurology in the Center for Human Experimental Therapeutics University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry Rochester, New York

David A. Edwards, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor, Clinical Chief of Pain Vanderbilt University Medical Center Nashville, Tennessee

Roger Fillingim, PhD

Distinguished Professor Pain Research & Intervention Center of Excellence University of Florida Gainesville, Florida

Jennifer Gewandter, PhD, MPH

Assistant Professor University of Rochester School of Medicine and Dentistry Rochester, New York

Deb Gordon, RN, DNP, FAAN

Co-Director Harborview Integrated Pain Care Program Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine University of Washington Seattle, Washington



Robert Hurley, MD, PhD

Vice-Chairman, Pain Medicine Medical College of Wisconsin Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Henrik Kehlet, MD, PhD

Head of Section of Surgical Pathophysiology Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen University Professor of Perioperative Therapy Copenhagen University Copenhagen, Denmark

Michael Kent, MD

Staff Anesthesiologist Walter Reed National Military Medical Center Bethesda, Maryland

John D. Loeser, MD

Professor, Emeritus Neurological Surgery and Anesthesia and Pain Medicine University of Washington Seattle, Washington

Sean Mackey, MD, PhD

Redlich Professor

Department of Anesthesiology, Perioperative and Pain Medicine, Neurosciences and Neurology Chief, Division of Pain Director, Systems Neuroscience and Pain Lab Stanford University School of Medicine Palo Alto, California

Samuel McLean, MD, MPH

Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine and Anesthesia Director, TRYUMPH Research Program UNC Chapel Hill Chapel Hill, North Carolina

Rosemary C. Polomano, PhD, RN

Professor of Pain Practice University of Pennsylvania School of Nursing Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Siamak Rahman, MD

Clinical Professor University of California, Los Angeles Los Angeles, California

Srinivasa N. Raja, MD

Professor of Anesthesiology/CCM, and Neurology Johns Hopkins Medicine Baltimore, Maryland



Bernard Schachtel, MD

Lecturer, Department of Epidemiology & Public Health Yale University School of Medicine New Haven, Connecticut

Kristin Schreiber, MD, PhD

Anesthesiologist, Clinical Researcher Brigham and Women's Hospital Harvard Medical School Boston, Massachusetts

Mark A. Schumacher, MD, PhD

Professor and Chief Division of Pain Medicine Department of Anesthesia and Perioperative Care University of California, San Francisco San Francisco, California

Brett R. Stacey, MD

Professor Medical Director, Center for Pain Relief University of Washington Seattle, Washington

Steven P. Stanos, DO

Medical Director Swedish Pain Services Medical Director, Occupational Medicine Swedish Health Services Seattle, Washington

Santhanam Suresh, MD

Arthur C. King Professor and Chair of the Department of Anesthesiology Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children's Hospital of Chicago Northwestern Memorial Hospital (including Prentice Women's Hospital) Chicago, Illinois

Gregory Terman, MD, PhD

Professor & Director of Pain Medicine Research Department of Anesthesiology and Pain Medicine University of Washington Seattle, Washington

Patrick Tighe, MD, MS

Assistant Professor
Acute and Perioperative Pain Medicine
Department of Anesthesiology
Joint Assistant Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery
Affiliate Assistant Professor of Information Systems and Operations Management
University of Florida
Gainesville, Florida



Knox H. Todd, MD, MPH, FACEP

Director, EMLine Founding Chair, Department of Emergency Medicine The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center Houston, Texas

Dennis C. Turk, PhD

John and Emma Bonica Professor of Anesthesiology & Pain Research Department of Anesthesiology & Pain Medicine University of Washington Seattle, Washington

Steven J. Weisman, MD

Professor of Anesthesiology and Pediatrics Children's Hospital of Wisconsin Medical College of Wisconsin Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Chris Wu, MD

Professor Department of Anesthesiology/Critical Care Medicine The Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine Baltimore, Maryland