

# ACTTION-APS Pain Taxonomy Meeting July 18 – 19, 2014 Westin Annapolis Annapolis, Maryland

FRIDAY, JULY 18	
7:30-8:00 AM	CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
8:00–8:15 AM	<ul> <li>ACTTION Welcome and Introductions</li> <li>Dennis C. Turk, PhD</li> </ul>
8:15–8:45 AM	<ul><li>The AAPT Framework</li><li>Roger Fillingim, PhD</li></ul>
8:45–9:15 AM	<ul> <li>Developing Research Diagnostic Criteria for CRPS</li> <li>Stephen Bruehl, PhD</li> </ul>
9:15–9:45 AM	<ul> <li>The RDC/DC Taxonomy for TMD and Chronic Orofacial Pain: an Initial Integration into the AAPT Framework</li> <li>Samuel F. Dworkin, DDS, PhD</li> </ul>
9:45–10:15 AM	BREAK
10:15–10:45 AM	<ul> <li>Q &amp; A and Panel Discussion</li> <li>Moderators: Robert H. Dworkin, PhD and Dennis C. Turk, PhD</li> <li>Stephen Bruehl, PhD, Samuel F. Dworkin, DDS, PhD, Roger Fillingim, PhD, Eva Widerstrom-Noga, DDS, PhD</li> </ul>
10:45–11:15 PM	<ul> <li>Proposed AAPT Research Agenda</li> <li>Stephen Bruehl, PhD</li> </ul>
11:15–12:00 PM	<ul> <li>Q &amp; A: Let's Make Sure We Are All on the Same Page</li> <li>Stephen Bruehl, PhD, Roger Fillingim, PhD, Robert H. Dworkin, PhD, Dennis C. Turk, PhD</li> </ul>
12:00-1:00 PM	LUNCH
1:00–2:45 PM	Breakout Sessions for AAPT Working Groups, as follows:



## I. Peripheral and Central Nervous Systems

- 1. Neuropathic Pain (Caucus I Room)
  - Peripheral Co-chairs: Robert Edwards, PhD, Roy Freeman, MD
  - Central Co-chair: Eva Widerstrom-Noga, DDS, PhD
  - <u>Facilitators:</u> Stephen Bruehl, PhD, Robert H. Dworkin, PhD

# II. Musculoskeletal System

- 2. Spine Pain (Senate A Room)
  - Co-chairs: Steven George, PT, PhD, John Markman, MD
  - <u>Facilitators:</u> Shannon M. Smith, PhD, Mark Sullivan, MD, PhD
- 3. Fibromyalgia and Chronic Myofascial and Widespread Pain *(Senate B Room)* 
  - Co-chairs: Lesley M. Arnold, MD, Robert Bennett, MD, Leslie J. Crofford, MD
  - <u>Facilitators:</u> Jennifer Gewandter, PhD, Gregory Terman, MD, PhD

[Osteoarthritis, Rheumatoid Arthritis, and Other Musculoskeletal Pain

- Co-chairs: Marc Hochberg, MD, Tuhina Neogi, MD, PhD
- [Will be meeting separately in Chicago]

# III. Orofacial and Head Pain

- 4. Temporomandibular Disorders and Other Facial Pain (Caucus II Room)
  - Werner Ceusters, MD, Samuel F. Dworkin, DDS, PhD, Sonia Sharma, BDS, MS

[Headache (summary of IHS criteria will be provided)]



## IV. Visceral, Pelvic, and Urogenital Pain

- 5. Visceral, Pelvic, and Urogenital Pain, Including IBS and IC (*Park Place One Room*)
  - Co-chairs: G. Nicholas Verne, MD, Ursula Wesselmann, MD, PhD
  - <u>Facilitators:</u> Elliot J. Krane, MD, Ajay Wasan, MD, MSc

### V. Disease-associated Chronic Pain

- 6. Cancer Pain (Park Place Two Room)
  - Co-chairs: Judith Paice, PhD, RN
  - <u>Facilitators:</u> Dennis C. Turk, PhD, Christin Veasley, BSc
- 7. Sickle Cell Pain (*Fillibuster Room*)
  - Co-chairs: Carlton Dampier, MD, Tonya Palermo, PhD
  - <u>Facilitators:</u> Roger Fillingim, PhD, Tina Tockarshewsky
- 2:45–3:15 PM BREAK
- 3:15–4:30 PM Breakout Sessions for AAPT Working Groups, as above
- 7:00–9:00 PM DINNER

#### SATURDAY, JULY 19

- 7:30–8:00 AM CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST
- 8:00–9:45 AM Breakout Sessions for AAPT Working Groups, as above
- 9:45–10:15 AM BREAK
- 10:15–12:00 PM Breakout Sessions for AAPT Working Groups, as above
- 12:00–1:00 PM LUNCH

Summary Presentations from each of the AAPT Working Groups: 10 minutes each, followed by 5 minutes Q & A)



1:00–1:15 PM	<ul><li>Neuropathic Pain</li><li>Robert Edwards, PhD, Roy Freeman, MD</li></ul>
1:15–1:30 PM	<ul><li>Spine Pain</li><li>Steven George, PT, PhD, John Markman, MD</li></ul>
1:30–1:45 PM	<ul> <li>Fibromyalgia and Chronic Myofascial and Widespread Pain</li> <li>Lesley M. Arnold, MD, Robert Bennett, MD, Leslie J. Crofford, MD</li> </ul>
1:45–2:00 PM	<ul><li>Temporomandibular Disorders and Other Facial Pain</li><li>Werner Ceusters, MD</li></ul>
2:00–2:15 PM	<ul><li>Visceral, Pelvic, and Urogenital Pain, Including IBS and IC</li><li>G. Nicholas Verne, MD, Ursula Wesselmann, MD, PhD</li></ul>
2:15–2:30 PM	Cancer Pain <ul> <li>Judith Paice, PhD, RN</li> </ul>
2:30–2:45 PM	<ul><li>Sickle Cell Pain</li><li>Carlton Dampier, MD, Tonya Palermo, PhD</li></ul>
2:45–3:15 PM	BREAK
3:15–4:30 PM	<ul> <li>Next Steps: Final Research Agenda and Timetable</li> <li>Stephen Bruehl, PhD, Robert H. Dworkin, PhD, and Dennis C. Turk, PhD</li> </ul>